Alabama-Miss. All-Stars still in play-offs

Brent Calloway

MOBILE, Ala. (Nov. 11) – For 62 of the 80 top collegiate prospects selected to play in the 2010 Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Classic, their quests for state high school team championships in each state continue Friday night.

Twenty-nine members of the Alabama All-Star team roster survived first-round playoff action last week to help lead their teams to AHSAA second-round berths this week. In Mississippi, 33 members of Team Mississippi will take the field on Friday.

First-round playoff action in Classes 2A-4A was held throughout the state last week, while the playoffs begin for 1A, 5A and 6A MHSAA schools on Friday. A total of 36 Team Mississippi players made the playoffs, 23 of them from 5A and 6A schools.

Three of the game's four quarterbacks will be in action on Friday. In Alabama, St. Paul's Jacob Coker, a Florida State commitment, will lead his Saints in a second-round matchup against Spanish Fort, while Athens' Stephen Rivers, a LSU commitment, will direct his Golden Eagles against Russellville.

In Mississippi, West Jones quarterback Ben Stevens leads the state's top ranked 5A team into a first-round matchup against D'Iberville as they begin their quest for a perfect season and a state title.

Stevens, who has thrown for 1,921 yards and 21 touchdowns on the season, is joined on the Team Mississippi roster by running back Devontay Barnett, who scored three touchdowns in West Jones' 49-17 win over Pearl River Central in the regular season finale.

Most of the All-Star Classic's players still competing for state titles come from the 5A and 6A powers in both states. Defending Alabama 6A state champion and number one ranked Hoover, which will face Spain Park in round two, has two players in the game – wide receiver/tight end Jaylon Denson, an Auburn commitment, and offensive lineman Brandon Morgan.

Mississippi's top-ranked team South Panola, ranked second in the nation by USA Today, will begin its quest for a seventh state title in eight years when it puts its 23-game winning streak on the line in a first-round matchup against Grenada.

The Tigers have three players on the All-Star Classic's Mississippi team roster – Mississippi State commitments Kendrick Market and Nicklos Brassell, and highly-productive running back Qyen Griffin, who has rushed for 1,979 yards and scored 28 touchdowns this season.

A total of 34 All-Star Classic players have already committed to play at major colleges next year, 26 of them in the SEC.

The All-Star Classic is set for Saturday, December 11, at Mobile's Ladd-Peebles Stadium.

2010 Alabama All-Star team members still in the AHSAA Playoffs:

Gadsden City (3) Daryl Collins, WR; Anthony Swain, DB; Terrick Wright, DL
Foley (3)Steven Jones, OL; Nick Lawhorn, OL; Dre'Shon McGaster, DL
Davidson (2)JaBrian Niles, DL; Denzell Perine, DL
Hoover (2)Brandon Morgan, OL; Jaylon Denson, WR
Prattville (2)Kardeem Poole, WR; Lance Schuffert, OL
Spanish Fort (2)Blake Dees, LB; Reese Dismukes, OL
Vigor (2)Marvin Shinn, WR; Eric Dixon, DB
Walker (2)Jacquese Kirk, DB; C.H. Scruggs, OL
AthensStephen Rivers, QB
Briarwood ChristianWilson Whorton, K
Carver-MontgomeryStanley Robinson, RB
Demopolis Demarcus James, RB
Leeds Jonathan Rose, DB
Leroy Sammie Coates, WR
McKenzie Emmanuel Johnson, ATH
Mountain Brook Miller Williams, DL
OxfordAllan Carson, DL
RussellvilleBrent Calloway, LB
St. Paul'sJacob Coker, QB

2010 Mississippi All-Star team members in MHSAA Playoffs:

South Panola (3) Nickolas Brassell, WR; Kendrick Market, ATH; Qyen Griffin, RB
Meridian (3)Jacoby Eason, LB; Shaquille Fluker, DB; Lauren Jackson, DL
Brookhaven (2)Jewaun Merchant, DL; Stone Underwood, OL
Gulfport (2)Jacob Troutman, OL; Cortez Hartzog, DL
Madison Central (2)Tobias Singleton, WR; Joe Price, RB
West Jones (2)Devontay Barnett, RB; Ben Stevens, QB
West Point (2) Tommy Keys, DL; Justin Cox, DB
Bassfield Marino Daggan, RB
BrandonJordan Kersh, DL
Callaway Aaron Morris, OL
ForestJosh Pinkston, WR
Mendenhall Trae Johnson, LB
Morton Taveze Calhoun, DB
Mount OliveRueben Duckworth, ATH
NatchezJustin Hamilton, DL
Noxubee CountyCorey Williams, LB
Ocean SpringsJoe Morrow, WR
Olive BranchJalen Collins, DB
Oxford Terry Johnson, OL
Philadelphia C.J. Johnson, LB
St. StanislausChris Frigo, OL
TaylorsvilleJustin Booth, OL
Tupelo P.J. Jones, DL
WinonaChelarvez Brown, DB Recommended Stories

Up Next


53 Fans online
    Join The Conversation