All-Big Ten Team
Troy Smith is POTY
Troy Smith is POTY
Posted Dec 11, 2006

Troy Smith and LaMarr Woodley headline the All-Big Ten Team as voted on by the Big Ten Publishers of

Ohio State and Michigan are considered by many around the country to be the Top Two teams in the country, and they were led by the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year. The Big Ten Publishers of voted on the All-Big Ten Teams as well as the players of the year.

It was considered the game of the year in the regular season this year, and the Ohio State/Michigan game lived up to the hype. The game featured two of the bright young stars in football in Ohio State's Troy Smith and Michigan's Lamarr Woodley the Big Ten Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year respectively.

Smith won the Heisman Trophy and will lead his Buckeyes in the BCS Championship Game against Florida. Woodley led the conference in sacks and helped the Wolverines post the #1 rushing defense in the conference.

The Publishers of Voted on the All-Big Ten Team:

All Big Ten Offensive - 1st Team

POS Player Team
QB Troy Smith* Ohio State
RB Mike Hart Michigan
RB P.J. Hill Wisconsin
WR Mario Manningham Michigan
WR Ted Ginn Jr. Ohio State
TE Matt Spaeth Minnesota
OL Joe Thomas Wisconsin
OL Mike Jones Iowa
OL Jake Long Michigan
OL Doug Datish Ohio State
OL T.J. Downing Ohio State
K Garrett Rivas Michigan

All Big Ten Defense - 1st Team

POS Player Team
DL Lamarr Woodley** Michigan
DL Quinn Pitcock Ohio State
DL Alan Branch Michigan
DL Anthony Spencer Purdue
LB James Laurinaitis Ohio State
LB Paul Posluszny Penn State
LB David Harris Michigan
DB Jack Ikegwuonu Wisconsin
DB Leon Hall Michigan
DB Malcolm Jenkins Ohio State
DB Antonio Smith Ohio State
P Brandon Fields Michigan State

All Big Ten Offense - 2nd Team

POS Player Team
QB John Stocco Wisconsin
RB Antonio Pittman Ohio State
RB Tony Hunt Penn State
WR Anthony Gonzalez Ohio State
WR Dorien Bryant Purdue
TE Travis Beckum Wisconsin
OL Levi Brown Penn State
OL Adam Kraus Michigan
OL Marshal Yanda Iowa
OL Jordan Grimes Purdue
OL Eric Vanden Heuvel Wisconsin
K Taylor Mehlhaff Wisconsin

All Big Ten Defense - 2nd Team

POS Player Team
DL Matt Shaughnessy Wisconsin
DL David Patterson Ohio State
DL Jay Alford Penn State
DL Vernon Gholston Ohio State
LB J. Leman Illinois
LB Dan Connor Penn State
LB Shawn Crable Minnesota
DB Anthony Scirrotto Penn State
DB Tracy Porter Indiana
DB Dominique Barber Minnesota
DB Alan Ball Illinois
P  Ken DeBauche Wisconsin

*Offensive Player of the Year
**Defensive Player of the Year All-Americans
National | ACC | Big 12 | Big East | Big Ten | Pac-10 | SEC

Related Stories
McFadden Emerges As Heisman Favorite In ’07
 -by  Dec 10, 2006
Heisman: The Ultimate Team Award
 -by  Dec 10, 2006
Troy Smith Joins Buckeye Legends With Heisman
 -by  Dec 9, 2006

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
QB Troy Smith (profile)
DE LaMarr Woodley (profile)
[View My HotList]