All-SEC Team
Darren McFadden - POTY
Darren McFadden - POTY
Posted Dec 12, 2006

The SEC was as strong as its been in several years with two teams headed to the BCS, and four of the Top 12 teams in the Country. The Offensive Player of the Year will be a strong contender for the Heisman next year, and the Defensive Player of the Year is now a two time winner.

He lined up at running back; he lined up at quarterback, and he lined up at receiver. Offensive Player of the Year Darren McFadden was named 1st Team All-South as an Athlete in the Class of 2005, and he proved it this year as maybe the best college football player in the country.

McFadden wasn't alone though. In an unprecedented move, the SEC publishers of named not one, but two Arkansas running backs to the 1st team All-SEC. Felix Jones averaged a stunning 7.1 yards per carry as he went over the 1,000 yard mark in helping the Razorbacks to the SEC Championship Game.

Ole Miss' do everything linebacker Patrick Willis was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2005, and he is now a two time winner. Willis led the conference in tackles, averaging 11.4 per contest. No other SEC defender was even in double digits.

The SEC Publishers of chose the All-SEC Teams.

All-SEC Offense - 1st Team

POS Name School
QB Chris Leak Florida
RB Darren McFadden*^ Arkansas
RB Felix Jones Arkansas
WR Robert Meachem Tennessee
WR Earl Bennett Vanderbilt
TE Jacob Tamme Kentucky
OL Arron Sears^ Tennessee
OL Ben Grubbs Auburn
OL Stephen Parker Arkansas
OL Timmy Duckworth Auburn
OL Zac Tubbs Arkansas
PK John Vaughn Auburn
Return Mikey Henderson Georgia

All SEC Defense - 1st Team

POS Name School
DL Jamaal Anderson^ Arkansas
DL Quentin Groves Auburn
DL Glenn Dorsey LSU
DL Charles Johnson Georgia
LB Patrick Willis**^ Ole Miss
LB Quinton Culberson Mississippi State
LB Sam Olajubutu Arkansas
DB Reggie Nelson^ Florida
DB LaRon Landry LSU
DB Jonathan Wade Tennessee
DB Simeon Castille Alabama
P Britton Colquitt Tennessee

All SEC Offense - 2nd Team

POS Name School
QB JaMarcus Russell LSU
RB BenJarvus Green-Ellis Ole Miss
RB Kenny Irons Auburn
WR Dwayne Bowe LSU
WR Sidney Rice South Carolina
TE Martrez Milner Georgia
OL Nick Jones Georgia
OL Antoine Caldwell Alabama
OL Will Arnold LSU
OL Jonathan Luigs Arkansas
OL Drew Miller Florida
PK James Wilhoit Tennessee
Return Derek Pegues Mississippi State

All SEC Defense - 2nd Team

POS Name School
DL Titus Brown Mississippi State
DL Deljuan Robinson Mississippi State
DL Jarvis Moss Florida
DL Tyson Jackson LSU
LB Brandon Siler Florida
LB Wesley Woodyard Kentucky
LB Jonathan Goff Vanderbilt
DB Ryan Smith Florida
DB David Irons Auburn
DB Tra Battle Georgia
DB Chris Houston Arkansas
P Eric Wilbur Florida

*Offensive Player of the Year
**Defensive Player of the Year
^Unanimous Selection All-Americans
National | ACC | Big 12 | Big East | Big Ten | Pac-10 | SEC

Related Stories
Football 2006, Part I
 -by  Dec 23, 2006
2006 senior tribute
 -by  Nov 28, 2006
Cat Scratch Fever
 -by  Jan 1, 2007

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
RB Darren McFadden (profile)
MLB Patrick Willis (profile)
[View My HotList]