2007 College All-American Team
Tim Tebow
Tim Tebow National Analyst
Posted Dec 5, 2007
Jamie Newberg

Quarterback Tim Tebow (Florida) and Chris Long (Virginia) are the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Years respectively, as they lead the All-American Team. The Coach of the Year is Gary Pinkel of Missouri.

Tebow became the first ever player to rush for 20 touchdowns and throw for 20 touchdown passes. Overall, he accounted for 51 touchdowns, threw for 3,132 yards (only six interceptions) and rushed for 838 yards. Tebow was also second in the NCAA in pass efficiency (177.9).

Running back Darren McFadden (Arkansas) was second in the voting for Offensive Player of the Year. He was brilliant this season, rushing for 1,725 yards, and 15 scores (5.7 yards per carry). He also played quarterback in the “wild hog” formation, throwing for four touchdowns.

Michael Crabtree (Texas Tech) had one of the greatest seasons ever for a wide receiver, catching an astounding 125 passes for 1,861 yards and 21 touchdowns. He led all receivers in receptions, yardage and touchdowns. In the process Crabtree shattered a slew of Red Raider receiving records and also became the first freshman finalist of the Biletnikoff Award, which is awarded annually to college football's best wide receiver.

Other members of the First Team are wide receiver Jordy Nelson (Kansas State), tight end Martin Rucker (Missouri), offensive tackles Jake Long (Michigan) and Ryan Clady (Boise State), offensive guard Duke Robinson (Oklahoma) and Martin O’Donnell (Illinois) and center Jonathan Luigs (Arkansas).

Selvie had a super season, leading the nation in tackles for a loss with 31.5. He also had 14.5 sacks (second in the NCAA). Selvie finished the season with 58 tackles, three forced fumbles and one blocked kick (in 11 games).

Long just edged out defensive end George Selvie (South Florida), defensive tackle Sedrick Ellis and linebacker James Laurinaitis (Ohio State) to win the Defensive Player of the Year honors. Other members of the First Team Defense are defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey (LSU), linebackers Scott McKillop (Pittsburgh) and Dan Conner (Penn State), cornerbacks Antone Cason (Arizona) and Alphonso Smith (Wake Forest) and safeties James Silva (Boston College) and Craig Steltz (LSU).

First team special teamers are punter Kevin Huber (Cincinnati), kicker Thomas Weber (Arizona State), kick returner Felix Jones (Arkansas), punt returner Leodis McKelvin (Troy) and athlete Jeremy Maclin (Missouri).

Pinkel narrowly beat Mark Mangino (Kansas) and June Jones (Hawaii) for coach of the year honors. Missouri finished the regular season 10-2, losing to Oklahoma twice, including the Big 12 Championship game last weekend. Missouri entered the conference championship game as the top ranked team in the nation. Pinkel is 47-36 in seven seasons with the Tigers.

First Team

QBTim TebowSo.6-3/234Florida
RBDarren McFaddenJr.6-2/215Arkansas
RBKevin SmithJr.6-1/211UCF
WRJordy NelsonSr.6-3/210Kansas State
WRMichael CrabtreeFr.6-2/208Texas Tech
TEMartin RuckerSr.6-6/255Missouri
OTRyan CladyJr.6-6/317Boise State
OTJake LongSr.6-7/313Michigan
OGDuke RobinsonJr.6-5/330Oklahoma
OGMartin O'DonnellSr.6-5/322Illinois
CJonathan LuigsJr.6-4/307Arkansas
DEGeorge SelvieSo.6-4/245South Florida
DEChris LongSr.6-4/284Virginia
DTSedrick EllisSr.6-1/285USC
DTGlenn DorseySr.6-2/299LSU
LBJames LaurinaitisJr.6-3/240Ohio State
LBScott McKillopJr.6-2/245Pittsburgh
LBDan ConnerSr.6-3/233Penn State
CBAntoine CasonSr.6-0/185Arizona
CBAlphonso SmithJr.5-9/188Wake Forest
SJames SilvaSr.5-11/210Boston College
S Craig SteltzSr.6-2/204LSU
ATHJeremy MaclinFr.6-1/185Missouri
KRFelix JonesJr.6-0/207Arkansas
PRLeodis McKelvinSr.5-10/190Troy
KThomas WeberFr.6-1/202Arizona State
PKevin HuberJr.6-1/210Cincinnati

Second Team

QBChase Daniel6-1/220Missouri
RBRay Rice5-9/195Rutgers
RBMatt Forte6-2/224Tulane
WRJames Hardy6-7/220Indiana
WRDavone Bess5-10/195Hawaii
TETravis Beckum6-4/224Wisconsin
OTKirk Barton6-6/300Ohio State
OTSam Baker6-5/305USC
OGShannon Tevega6-3/316UCLA
OGRoy Schuenning6-4/320Oregon State
CAdam Spieker6-2/310Missouri
DEVernon Gholston6-4/264Ohio State
DEGreg Middleton6-3/270Indiana
DTFrank Okam6-5/320Texas
DTJames McClinton6-1/285Kansas
LBErin Henderson6-3/236Maryland
LBCurtis Lofton6-0/235Oklahoma
LBJordan Dizon /td>6-0/225Colorado
CBMike Jenkins6-0/200South Florida
CBAqib Talib6-2/205Kansas
SPatrick Chung6-0/210Oregon
SKenny Phillips6-2/210Miami
ATHPercy Harvin5-11/181Florida
KRMathew Slater6-0/194UCLA
PRKevin Robinson6-0/199Utah State
KGary Cismesia5-11/214FSU
PBrett Kern6-3/201Toledo

Third Team

QB Dennis Dixon 6-4/205 Oregon
RB Jonathan Stewart 5-11/230 Oregon
RB Rashard Mendenhall 5-11/224 Illinois
WR Harry Douglass 5-11/170 Louisville
WR Jarett Dillard 5-11/185 Rice
TE Fred Davis 6-4/245 USC
OT Gosder Cherilus 6-7/319 Boston College
OT Ryan Stancheck 6-4/300 West Virginia
OG Adam Kraus 6-6/296 Michigan
OG Anthony Parker 6-3/305 Tennessee
C Steve Justice 6-4/284 Wake Forest
DE Maurice Evans 6-2/269 Penn State
DE Bruce Davis 6-3/234 UCLA
DT Vance Walker 6-5/288 Georgia Tech
DT Mitch King 6-3/264 Iowa
LB Wesley Woodyard 6-1/200 Kentucky
LB Xavier Adibi 6-2/236 Virginia Tech
LB J Leman 6-3/243 Illinois
CB Brandon Flowers 5-10/200 Virginia Tech
CB Dwight Lowery 6-1/185 San Jose State
S Eric Wicks 6-1/205 West Virginia
S Nic Harris 6-3/232 Oklahoma
ATH Chris Johnson 5-11/196 ECU
KR A.J. Jefferson 6-1/180 Fresno State
PR Eddie Royal 5-10/180 Virginia Tech
K John Sullivan 5-8/143 New Mexico
P Durant Brooks 6-0/202 Georgia Tech

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.