Saxons are Big Kahunas once again

Defense MVP Garrett Saike (

BURNABY, B.C. - Ferris Head Coach Jim Sharkey isn't taking the trophy back to Spokane, superstition be damned. After bringing the permanent one back for winning the 2007 Big Kahuna 7-7 Passing Challenge, Sharkey had the choice to take it home again after a 40-39 gutwrenching win over Skyline. He declined.

Garrett Saike's interception and return against the Spartans not only pushed Saike over the top as the tournament's top defensive performer, it enabled the Saxons to repeat as Big Kahuna champions. After stopping Skyline late, Sharkey instructed quarterback Connor Halliday to just throw the ball out of bounds. Since the tournament rules included a running clock, the move basically killed whatever time the Spartans might have had to mount one last rally.

Saike's pick-six was basically the lone blemish on Jake Heaps' weekend resume, as the Spartans' rising sophomore quarterback was named the tournament's top offensive player. Skyline also won the Lineman Challenge, led by MVP Grant Engel

Here is the order of finish:
1. Ferris (Spokane)

2. Skyline (Issaquah)

3. Eastlake (Redmond)

4. Lord Tweedsmuir (Surrey, B.C.)

5. Redmond
6. Rick Hansen (Abbotsford, B.C.)
7. W.J. Mouat (Abbotsford, B.C.)
8. Ballenas (Parksville, B.C.)
9. Centennial (Coquitlam, B.C.)
10. New Westminster, B.C.

Big Kahuna All-Offense (from left:) Connor Halliday (Ferris), Robbie Devries (Ballenas), Aaron Roberts (Ferris), Kasen Williams (Skyline), MVP Jake Heaps (Skyline)

Big Kahuna All-Defense (from left:) Nathan Tonani (Ferris), MVP Garrett Saike (Ferris), Scotty Payton (Eastlake), Lemar Durant (Centennial), Jake Knecht (Skyline)

Big Kahuna Lineman Challenge Champions: Skyline

Click here to view the Big Kahuna Passing Challenge Photo Gallery. Recommended Stories


26 Fans online
    Join The Conversation