Six Players Nominated for Player of the Year
Jamarkus McFarland
Jamarkus McFarland
Posted Jan 2, 2009

San Antonio, Texas -- Jamarkus McFarland, Rueben Randle, Randall Carroll, Bryce Brown, Xavier Nixon, and Dre Kirkpatrick were all nominated for the player of the year during a ceremony that was held during the U.S. Army Bowl festivities.

There are a lot of deserving players across the country that deserve to be in the running for the Player of the Year in high school football, but in the end there were six players that rose to the top.

These six players were recognized for the honor during a ceremony held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel as part of the U.S. Army All-American Game.

The players were introduced by former Fort Bend High School running back Kenneth Hall, who still holds the all-time national rushing record.

Bryce Brown - “Bryce Brown is the nation’s number one ranked running back. He has the size speed and ability to be an immediate impact running back on the next level.”

Randall Carroll - “Randall Carroll is considered to be one of the fastest players in the nation. With 10.5 second 100-meter time. The recruiters have been impressed with his relentless determination to get better.”

Dre Kirkpatrick - “Dre Kirkpatrick is rated by many as the top defensive back in the nation. He is a giant that will not be pushed around or out-jumped by the tall wide receivers in college.”

Xavier Nixon - “Xavier Nixon is considered by recruiters nationwide as the top lineman in the country. He has quick feet and excellent technique. To be the top player in high school – or really in anything – out of a million and a half [players] is really quite something.”

Jamarkus McFarland - “Jamarkus McFarland is an exceptional young man and is very intelligent. He has the size speed and strength and the ability to beat the players across from him in various ways.”

Reuben Randle - “Rueben Randle I found to be a bright young man. He is player that serves multiple purposes on the football field. He is rated as the nation’s number one wide receiver. He is one of the nation’s most athletic players and he has the size, speed, and hands that is awfully tough to beat.”

By being nominated the six finalists will now be eligible to win the Player of the Year Award during another ceremony that will be held this evening.

The six players along with QB Tyrik Rollison, TE Sheldon Richardson, LB Vontaze Burfict, P Jackson Rice, and K Brendan Gibbons were also awarded the prestigious Maxwell Award.

The Maxwell Award recognizes the top player at each position and the Maxwell Award Club has been honoring both collegiate and professional players since 1935.

Related Stories
USAAB West Offensive Report: Day Four
 -by  Jan 1, 2009
USAAB Coach's Spotlight: Bryce Brown
 -by  Jan 2, 2009
USAAB Recruiting Update: WR Randall Carroll
 -by  Dec 31, 2008

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
RB Bryce Brown (profile)
WR Randall Carroll (profile)
[View My HotList]