Sailer/Rubio National Kicking Event Recap
Chris Sailer Kicking
Posted May 25, 2010

A look at the 8th Annual National Kicking Event in Las Vegas by Chris Sailer and Chris Rubio...

Chris Sailer Kicking put on the 8th Annual National Kicking Spring Event, sponsored by Nike this past weekend in Las Vegas, NV. The Vegas Events are the most popular kicking, punting, and long snapping exposure camps in the world. The best of the best once again headed to Las Vegas representing nearly every state in the country. This year some talented specialists even traveled from Australia and Canada. Many stepped up and just as many folded under the intense pressure. All were hoping to land atop the national rankings and be invited to the prestigious invite only Chris Sailer Kicking "TOP 12" & "Event Elite" camp later this summer. Take a look at the results:

National Champions:
Field Goal: Spencer Ramsey - 2011 (CA)
Punting: Chase Tenpenny - JC (KS)
Long Snapping: Tanner Gibas - 2011 (CA)

Major Competition Winners:
Field Goal Last Man Standing: Brooks Abbott - 2012 (FL), Chad Hedlund - 2011 (TX), Hayden Ross - 2011 (CA), and Ian Sternau - 2011 (CA)
Punt Competition Winners: Smith Heath - 2011 (CA) and Kris Albarado (LA)

Initial Round Competition Winners:
Field Goal: Ike Fuchs - 2013 (CA), Ka'imi Fairbairn - 2012 (HI), Michael Hunnicutt - 2011 (IL) and Aaron Rogers - 2011 (UT)
Kickoff: Ty Cummings - 2013 (TX), Brooks Abbott - 2012 (FL), Ross Martin - 2012 (OH), Michael Hunnicutt - 2011 (IL), and Mike Bowlin - 2010 (OR)
Punt: Kolby Gregory - 2013 (AZ), Colton Bowden - 2012 (OR), Kris Selita - 2011 (MI), and Ian Campbell - 2010 (CA)

"Event Elite" - Kickers
Paul Griggs - 2012 (NC)
Garrett Owens - 2012 (CA)
Ross Martin - 2012 (OH)
Matt Green - 2011 (KY)
Michael Hunnicutt - 2011 (IL)
Oleg Parent - 2011 (CA)
Brady Stuart - 2011 (CA)
John Wallace - 2011 (KY)
Chad Hedlund - 2011 (TX)
Colin Ditsworth - 2011 (NV)
Alex Mueller - 2011 (TX)
Jordan Wiggs - 2011 (TX)
Riley Lyons - 2011 (GA)
Zach Sharp - 2011 (TN)
Mike Bowlin - JC (CA)

"Event Elite" - Punters
Wil Baumann - 2011 (NC)
Kris Albarado - 2011 (LA)
Kris Selita - 2011 (MI)
Kyle Christy - 2011 (IN)
Greg Colquitt - 2011 (TN)
Caleb Gammel - 2011 (LA)
Drew Kaser - 2011 (OH)
Dalton Botts - JC (CA)
Chase Tenpenny - JC (KS)
MattĀ  Williams - JC (CA)
Ian Campbell - JC (CA)

"Event Elite" - Long Snappers
Scott Daly - 2012 (IL)
Grant Meersand - 2012 (CA)
Matt Dooley - 2011 (AZ)
JJ Drescher - 2011 (TX)
Grant Ellington - 2011 (IL)
Matt Giampapa - 2011 (TN)
Tanner Gibas - 2011 (CA)
Bryce Haynes - 2011 (GA)
Richard Kersten - 2011 (CA)
Rick Lovato - 2011 (NJ)
Luke Sims - 2011 (CO)
Jay Weneta - 2011 (CA)

1. "TOP 12" K/P Members Matt Goudis - 2011 (CA), Connor Loftus - 2011 (CA), Andre Heidari - 2011 (CA), Niklas Sade - 2011 (NC), Anthony DiPaula - 2011 (NJ), Alex Howell - 2011 (SC), and Will Oliver - 2011 (CA) set the standard at the Event and once again performed at D1A Scholarship Level.

2. Cayle Chapman (Australia) came in and dominated the punting competition. At 6'5" and 220 plus pounds, he hit several punts of 60 plus yards with 5.2 + hang time. He is ready to enter college this Fall with 4 years of eligibility. He is without a doubt a D1A Scholarship ready punter.

3. Not only did Tanner Gibas win the long snapping competition, he also averaged an outstanding .68 on The Rubio Target.

4. "TOP 12" Long Snappers Reid Ferguson - 2012 (GA) and Cory Cheadle (SC) both continued to separate themselves from the others in their class. "TOP 12" for the 2011 class completely dominated as well. These long snappers were: Nick Boyle - PA (2011), Harrison Elliott - 2011 (GA), Zach Ewan - 2011 (AZ), Nolan Frese - 2011 (TX), Peter McBride - 2011 (AZ), Dallas Noriega - 2011 (AZ), John Sheperdson - 2011 (CA) and Scott Thompson - 2011 (CA).

5. The 2011 class of Long Snappers is really starting to form now and the top of the top are starting to rise. Dallas Noriega, Peter McBride, Scott Thompson and Zach Ewan really showed why they are at the top of their class. They all looked like machines out there all weekend.

6. Other noteable long snappers throughout the weekend were: Mike Crispi, Alex Den Bleyker, Brandon Jaffe, Nick Monaghan, David Murphy and Derek O'Dell

Chris Sailer Kicking is set to begin the 2010 Summer Tour this June. Go to for dates and locations. Also look for full results and recruit updates post 8th Annual National Kicking Spring Event in the coming weeks.

Related Stories
Thompson Selects NC State
 -by  Jun 28, 2010
West 2011 Preseason Rankings: Special Teams
 -by  Sep 13, 2010
Thompson: 'It Was Amazing'
 -by  Dec 8, 2010

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook with an annual Total Access Pass
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
K Will Oliver (profile)
LS Scott Thompson (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > UCLA > Recruiting
[View My HotList]